The Whatnauts – Help Is On The Way 12 inch (CD & Vinyl)   7 comments

The Whatnauts – Help Is On The Way 12 inch (CD & Vinyl)

The Whatnauts were a ’70s soul group from Baltimore who drew their inspiration from falsetto-led groups like the Dells, the Chi-Lites, and especially the Stylistics. They shared a similar smooth sound and romantic lyrics (with an occasional foray into social lyrics) and a lead falsetto that could crack safety glass. Whatnauts lead vocalist Billy Herndon isn’t quite as controlled as the singers in those bands; occasionally his voice takes flight and comes dangerously close to shredding speaker cones. “Help Is on the Way,” a dance track they cut in 1981, is a stand alone single that reached the Billboard Charts in 1982.

http://bitly.com/Whatnauts-Help

Posted August 24, 2014 by mrdap in 12 Inch Singles, Dance, Funk

7 responses to “The Whatnauts – Help Is On The Way 12 inch (CD & Vinyl)

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. One of my favorite bass lines, It’s identical to the one in Fat Larry’s Band “Act Like You Know”. I think this was released first. Classic, Thanks Dap

  2. Nice one Dap. Always liked the Whatnauts stuff that they recorded on Stang/All Platinum earlier in the 1970s although they usually had to play backup to the fabulous Moments. Downloaded this then when I did a little research found that I had all their earlier stuff on a compilation cd! Dooh, think I’ve got too much stuff.

  3. Before I got into FLAC, I always prefered vinyl and buying a CD was an exception. So I was really happy, when I saw that you posted the complete vinyl record and the CD version was only additional. But since I have downloaded this 12“, it´s the CD-version of this crispy bassline that makes me really happy.

Hit Me Up With Your Thoughts, Opinions & Suggestions. Give Me Your MIND!